HIV Community Leadership Awards | seeking nominations

Good afternoon everyone,

One of the LA Women’s HIV/AIDS Task Force’s signature events, the annual Leadership Awards, is right around the corner.  We are currently looking for nominations for the Leadership Awards. Attached are the descriptions for the following award categories: Peer award, Social Service Provider award, Medical Provider award, Agency award, and the National/Global Leader Award.  Also, below is a list of all the past winners. Please consider nominating someone new!

 Please submit all nominations as soon as possible to Faith Landsman:


2011 Award Recipients:

Peer:  Thelma James

Social Service Provider:  Christine Downes and Nola Thomas

Medical Provider:  Derrick Butler, MD and Alice Stek, MD

Agency:  JWCH

National/Global Leader:  Judith Currier, MD

2010 Award Recipients:

Peer:  Norma Guerra

Social Service Provider:  Shellye Jones

Medical Provider:  Dr. Laveeza Bhatti

Agency:  Spectrum and MCA

National/Global:  Cathy Olufs

2009 Award Recipients:

Peer:  Shelley Singer

Social Service Provider:  Silvia Valerio and Precious Jackson

Medical Provider:  Ardis Moe, MD

Agency Award:  Women Alive

National/Global:  Sheryl Lee Ralph

Have a great week,

Maureen Garcia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s